The Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans consists of seven commissioners. They are unsalaried and serve five-year staggered terms. The Governor of Louisiana appoints members from a list of three nominations submitted by 19 local civic, labor, education and maritime groups.

The Board reflects the Port’s three-parish jurisdiction, with two members from Jefferson Parish, four from Orleans Parish and one from St. Bernard Parish. Commissioner Jack C. Jensen and Commissioner Joseph F. Toomy represent Jefferson Parish. Chair Tara C. Hernandez, Vice-Chairman Darryl D. Berger, Secretary-Treasurer William H. Langenstein, III and Commissioner Arnold B. Baker represent Orleans Parish. Commissioner Charles H. Ponstein represents St. Bernard Parish.

Future Board Meetings

July Agendas

In response to the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency, and pursuant to Section 2(C) of the Governor’s Proclamation 84 JBE 2020, Board meetings will convene on Thursday, July 23, 2020 using Zoom teleconferencing. The Board of Directors of the New Orleans Public Belt Railroad Corporation will convene at 1:30 p.m., followed immediately by the Regular Monthly meeting of the Port’s Board of Commissioners, followed by the inaugural Regular Monthly meeting of the Board of Commissioners of the New Orleans Public Belt Railroad Commission for the Port of New Orleans.

The link to access the Zoom livestream of the meeting is provided below. Public comments will be accepted during the meetings through the use of Zoom’s Chat feature.

Join Zoom Meeting

Phone one-tap:

US: +13126266799,,94263073388# or +16465588656,,94263073388#

877 853 5247 (Toll Free) or 888 788 0099 (Toll Free)

Meeting URL:

Meeting ID:

942 6307 3388

Regular Meetings of the Board of Commissioners will convene on Thursdays at 1:30 p.m. unless otherwise specified.

  • July 23 (Zoom teleconferencing)
  • August 20
  • September 24
  • October 22
  • November 19
  • December 17

For information on past board meetings click here.